What is Love? (Baby don’t hurt me… don’t hurt me… nooo ohhhh)

Passion? What is passion?

passion |ˈpa sh ən|noun1 strong and barely controllable emotion : a man of impetuous passion. See note at emotion .• a state or outburst of such emotion : oratory in which he gradually works himself up into a passion.• intense sexual love : their all-consuming passion for each other | she nurses apassion for Thomas.• an intense desire or enthusiasm for something : the English have a passion for gardens.• a thing arousing enthusiasm : modern furniture is a particular passion of Bill’s.2 ( the Passion) the suffering and death of Jesus : meditations on the Passion of Christ.• a narrative of this from any of the Gospels.• a musical setting of any of these narratives : an aria from Bach’s St. Matthew Passion.

Intense desire and enthusiasm, eh? Strong barely controllable emotion?

I have tried to address this before, finding an answer is so difficult. A few days ago a friend asked me what I cared about, and what I valued most. I felt embarrassed when I couldn’t fess up an answer. What do I care about? Am I just as selfish as Mr. Smith on Wall Street? I care about other people, but do I really, who do I care about the most? My family? Well, yeah, now I guilty cover up for my shame, my family is great, they have done so much for me and have made me this unordinary kid that I am. And I love that.

Anyway, Passion…

I think I’m passionate towards art. I LOVE all mediums of which art can be portrayed. Through films (see my top ten!) or music (passion or lust for Serge Gainsbourg?) I’ve been having these moments lately where I can’t say what I’m thinking, but if I had a rainbow of acrylics and a canvas in front of me I feel like I could convey it perfectly. The way music, films and visual art can convey a story, an emotion, a plot, another world, is something that I absolutely love and I think I am passionate about.

The specific pieces of art, I’m head over heals PASSIONATE, and in LOVE WITH

Histoire de Melody Nelson by Serge Gainsbourg (seriously, greatest album…)

photo courtesy – http://chacinski.files.wordpress.com

Lay Lady Lay by Bob Dylan

photo – http://transhumanhighway.files.wordpress.com

Michael Gondry’s Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

photo – http://thehurstreview.files.wordpress.com

Graffiti featured in the 313 (Deeeeeetroit!)

photo – moiiiii

Korea (I realized I loved Korea yesterday. It was a great moment.)

photo courtesy – eohmah!

Leave a Reply

